Sonic and the Secret Rings for Wii Review

Upcoming

Sonic The Hedgehog #39

Wed May 12, 2021 28 d

Report: Test subjects S, A, and T are responding very well to experiments. Proceeding to phase three.

Sonic, Amy, and Tails are still stuck in Eggman’s evil tower and being subjected to his increasingly crazy tests. It doesn’t help that Tangle and Belle have unknowingly begun controlling the tower and are making it impossible for their friends to escape! Everyone’s limits are pushed as they try to make it out in time in “Test Run,” part three!

Sonic The Hedgehog #40

Wed Jun 2, 2021 Tentative

Tangle to the rescue! The brave lemur has jumped into the battle to save Sonic, Amy, and Tails from falling victim to Dr. Eggman’s latest experiment. Belle has a different kind of battle when she comes face-to-face with an old friend. Will the gang be able to escape unharmed? Find out in Evan Stanley’s epic conclusion to “Test Run”!

Sonic The Hedgehog #41

Wed Jun 16, 2021 Tentative

The Deadly Six are still on the loose and attacking towns. Jewel the Beetle recruits Sonic’s friends the Chaotix to find and stop the Zeti, but Zavok of the Deadly Six is looking for his minions, too—he’s angrier than ever and wants to reunite. The Chaotix will have to act quickly to outsmart the Deadly Six!

Sonic the Hedgehog: 30th Anniversary Special

Wed Jun 23, 2021 Tentative

After 30 years of going fast, it’s time for fans to celebrate the speediest hedgehog of all time! It’s an unbelievable birthday celebration for Sonic the Hedgehog with his first Classic Sonic special!

First, in “Seasons of Chaos” by longtime Sonic scribe Ian Flynn and artists Aaron Hammerstrom & Reggie Graham, Sonic goes on an adventure from pleasant spring valleys to wintry wonderlands in search of the Chaos Emeralds. But Sonic’s not alone, with a little help from his friends Miles “Tails” Prower, Knuckles the Echidna, Amy Rose, Mighty the Armadillo, and Ray the Flying Squirrel, they’ll race, fight, and fly their way to victory against the baddest of baddies!

Then, in “Dr. Eggman’s Birthday,” the vile, villainous Dr. Eggman takes center stage in a story written by New York Times bestseller Gale Galligan (The Babysitters Club)! And how does the bad doctor celebrate the occasion? Only his Badniks know for sure…

Finally, in “Sonic Learns to Drive,” Sonic’s up against a tough challenge: Driving! When the fastest thing alive can outrun any car, will Sonic have the patience to learn… or will he finally get left in the dust? Written by the hosts of My Brother, My Brother, and Me, The Adventure Zone, and New York Times bestsellers, the McElroy Brothers!

Grab a slice of chili dog cake and don’t get left in the dust on the most way past cool book of the year!

Sonic The Hedgehog #42

Wed Jul 7, 2021 Tentative

Zeti Hunt, part two! Now that Zavok has his pack, it’s time for them to make a big move. But Jewel the Beetle, newly appointed Restoration leader, has called on Sonic, Tails, and the Chaotix to run interference. Will they be able to stop the Zeti and make it home in time for spaghetti!?

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Fri Apr 8, 2022 359 d

Sequel to the 2020 movie.

  • Categories

  • Article Archives

  • Recent Posts

    View More

    Sonic and the Secret Rings for Wii Review

    Introduction:

    When Sonic the Hedgehog (2006) was being developed, the people at Sonic Team were planning to have a port of the game for the Nintendo Revolution (aka the Wii). But due to not having enough time to achieve that, they instead decided to split the development team so one could work on an entirely new game for the console. At E3 2006, Sonic Wild Fire was announced. Later in August, however, the name was changed to Sonic and the Secret Rings and was released for the Nintendo Wii on Feb. 20, 2007. So, is the game a wish come true? Or a dead RINGer?

    The Story:

    Our tale begins with our beloved hedgehog taking a nap after reading a bit of the Arabian Nights. His rest is disturbed by Shahra, a genie from the Arabian Nights. She tells him that the Erazor Djinn is erasing the pages of the book in order to absorb the power of the book and escape to the real world. Sonic agrees to help and Shahra takes the hedgehog into the world of the Arabian Nights.

    Once they are inside the book, they meet the Erazor Djinn who is looking for the seven World Rings. He then shoots an arrow fire at Sonic and tells him that if he doesn’t find the world rings before the fire on his chest goes out, he will die. So our blue hedgehog and Shahra have to explore the world of the Arabian Nights in search of the World Rings and find a way to stop the Erazor Djinn.

    Sonic and the Secret Rings image
    Image Courtesy of the Sonic Fandom

    As you explore the book, you will encounter characters from the Arabian Nights who look strikingly similar to the characters of Sonic’s world like Eggman, Knuckles, and Tails. I wish we got to see more original characters like Shahra and the Erazor Djinn. Besides those two, there was only one other prominent character in the game that wasn’t based on a character from Sonic’s world.

    Overall, the story is fine. I don’t have many thoughts on it. I wish we got to explore more of the Arabian Nights. Another problem was that we should’ve seen more of these characters. For example, there is this strange relationship Shahrah has with the Erazor Djinn that is never talked about. I give it a solid B.

    The Gameplay:

    The levels seem a bit repetitive. There are eight worlds and most have the same type of levels. Most levels have one level where you must reach the goal. These are usually related to the story. There are many other levels in each world but they are usually the same missions but in different locations. There are the “destroy all enemies,” “collect a certain amount of rings,” “race to the finish” and other missions similar to that. In order to progress through the game and collect the world rings, you need to do these side missions.

    Controlling Sonic can be a pain on occasion. Unlike other Sonic games, you are constantly moving forward and the camera only looks forward. If you want to go backward, you have to tilt the Wii Remote towards you to make Sonic walk backward instead of Sonic turning to the direction you want me to go. This makes backtracking through the level very difficult and collecting collectibles even harder. In order to move Sonic left and right, you must tilt the remote left or right depending on how you want it and it seems a little slow in my opinion. The one part of the controls I hate the most is the homing attack. When you are in the air and see an enemy, you can attack it by pushing the Wii Remote forward. This will sometimes not register and will occasionally lead to your death when homing attacks are necessary.

    Sonic and the Secret Rings Image
    Image Courtesy of the Sonic Fandom

    There are also two new abilities you can use as Sonic: Speed Break and Time Break. As you collect Soul Energy, your Soul Gauge will increase which will allow you to use these abilities. Speed Break makes you go extremely fast for a short time and Time Break slows down time for a short time. These are usually not necessary but make certain parts of a level easier.

    And then there is the party mode…

    Alright, I honestly have barely played the party mode (my younger siblings left once they tried it) but all I will say is that motion controls and Mario Party-like minigames don’t mix well together as they will occasionally not register.

    The soundtrack:

    Overall, the gameplay can be fun but also a pain thanks to the game’s motion controls and how repetitive it is (seems to be a theme for Wii games). I give it a B-.

    The soundtrack is pretty good. It has songs like “Let the Speed Mend It,” “Unawakening Float,” “Worth a Chance,” etc. My one problem with this soundtrack is its main theme “Seven Rings in Hand.” It’s a good song, but it’s so overused. You hear it when you start the game, in one of the CGI cutscenes, when you fail or clear a level, and when you select the level. It makes the song a little underwhelming when you hear it as the song for the final boss. I give the soundtrack an A.

    Conclusion:

    To conclude, this game is meh for me. Which is quite sad since I love the idea of exploring the Arabian Nights as Sonic. I wish we saw more characters and the game would’ve been better if it didn’t have motion controls. I give Sonic and the Secret Rings a 7/10.

     

    At a Glance: Sonic and the Secret Rings

    Summary: Collect the seven World Rings and defeat the Erazor Djinn to save the world of the Arabian Nights.

    Rated: E for Everyone: Cartoon Violence

    Price: $4.99 (Gamestop)

    Distributor: Sega

    System: Wii

    Release Date: Feb. 20, 2007.

    Rating: 7/10.