Sonic Generations Review

Upcoming

Sonic The Hedgehog #36

Sonic The Hedgehog #36

Wed Jan 13, 2021 Out Now!

Strap on your snowshoes, an avalanche is headed straight for White Park Chateau! Sonic and gang are going to have to act quickly if they want to save the White Park guests and stop the hooded figure from getting away with Tails! Join Evan Stanley for the action-packed conclusion of “Chao Races and Badnik Bases”

Sonic The Hedgehog #37

Sonic The Hedgehog #37

Wed Feb 10, 2021 24 d

There’s a new kid on the block! And a new… tower? While Tangle tries to initiate Belle into the Restoration, Sonic, Amy, and Tails investigate a mysterious looking tower that has popped up. Everyone is pushed to their limits in “Test Run”!

Sonic The Hedgehog #38

Sonic The Hedgehog #38

Wed Feb 17, 2021 31 d

Houston, there appears to be two hedgehogs and a fox floating through space…

Sonic, Amy, and Tails are stuck in a mysterious new Eggman base. Each room holds a challenging surprise and the hallways don’t make any sense! Can they find out how to escape unharmed? Meanwhile, Tangle and Belle sneak in to find the bots running the show and stumble into some trouble!

Sonic The Hedgehog #39

Sonic The Hedgehog #39

Wed Mar 31, 2021 73 d

Report: Test subjects S, A, and T are responding very well to experiments. Proceeding to phase three.

Sonic, Amy, and Tails are still stuck in Eggman’s evil tower and being subjected to his increasingly crazy tests. It doesn’t help that Tangle and Belle have unknowingly begun controlling the tower and are making it impossible for their friends to escape! Everyone’s limits are pushed as they try to make it out in time in “Test Run,” part three!

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Fri Apr 8, 2022 446 d

Sequel to the 2020 movie. Title to be announced.

  • Categories

  • Article Archives

  • Recent Posts

    View More

    Sonic Generations Review

    Introduction:

    “Sonic the Hedgehog” is a huge franchise appearing in comics, shows, movies, and, of course, games and has inspired the lives of many gamers. After the completion of “Sonic Unleashed,” Sonic Team discussed ways to celebrate the blue blur’s 20th anniversary. The team decided to split the gameplay between Classic and Modern. Dimps helped develop the 3DS version of the game which the team decided to start from scratch and make the game a celebration of Sonic’s portable history. Ports for the Wii, DS, and Playstation Portable (PSP) were scrapped, however. On Nov. 1, 2011, “Sonic Generations” was released for Playstation 3 and Xbox 360. The Windows version was released two days later and the 3DS game came out on the 22nd. So, is this game a timeless Classic? Or a Modern flop?

    Note: I will be reviewing the PC version for this review.

    The Story:

    Sonic was having a birthday party with his friends but was interrupted by a time-traveling entity known as the Time Eater. He scatters

    Sonic Generations Image
    Image Courtesy of Sega

    Sonic’s friends into different places of time and Sonic ends up in a space void of time. In order to restore time, he and his past self, Classic

    Sonic, must go through the levels of his past.

    The story is….fine. As you go through the game, characters will come back but they don’t do much except challenge you in certain missions. We only see Robotnik (Classic Eggman) at the end of the game and even then it seems Modern Eggman takes the spotlight from him. Overall, it’s quite lacking and I wish we saw more of these characters interact. I give the story a B.

    The Gameplay:

    Each world is divided into two acts, the first act is for Classic Sonic which is a 2D version of that level. The second act is a 3D version of the level where you play as Modern Sonic. “What are the differences between Modern and Classic Sonic,” you ask? Well, Classic Sonic functions similarly to his entries in the Genesis games. He can spin-dash and destroy enemies by hopping on them. Modern Sonic is a little more complicated. He uses a homing attack that he can target at enemies and destroy them and can boost which makes him go incredibly fast. In order to fill the boost gauge, he must collect rings, destroy enemies, or perform tricks.

    Besides the acts, there are also side missions that you can do to unlock artwork for Generations and previous Sonic games along with music from these previous games. These missions consist of challenges such as racing against a clone, surviving with a limited amount of rings, avoiding obstacles in order to reach the goal, etc.

    Sonic Generations Image
    Image Courtesy of Steam

    I had some fun with the gameplay. It was really fun exploring the 3D versions of 2D levels like Chemical Plant and Sky Sanctuary along with the 2D versions of City Escape and Crisis City. My two complaints are that Classic Sonic feels a bit slippery which can make platforming a pain and the final boss felt very boring to me. It just didn’t feel as exciting and the characters would just keep talking and talking and talking and not actually do anything (just look up “that looks like a homing shot”). I give the gameplay an A-.

    The Soundtrack:

    The soundtrack is made up of classic and modern remixes of levels for their respective acts. My favorite is the classic remix of City Escape. As you unlock music, you can select the unlocked music and play it as you play the acts or side missions. I loved unlocking music. However, I wish more of the unlocked songs were remixed. There are a few unlocked songs that are remixes (Toxic Caves being my favorite) but they seem to be slightly different from the original. I give the soundtrack an A.

    Conclusion:

    To conclude, I enjoyed playing this game. Its biggest flaw is its story but overall, it’s a good game. I give it an 8/10.

    At a Glance: Sonic Generations

    Summary: Restore time to the world as you explore levels old and new as both Classic and Modern Sonic.

    Rated: E for Everyone: Cartoon Violence

    Price: Xbox 360: $14.99 (Gamestop) PS3: $19.99 (Gamestop) 3DS: $24.99 (Gamestop) PC: $19.99 (Steam)

    Distributor: Sega

    Systems: Xbox 360, PS3, 3DS, PC

    Release Date: PS3 and Xbox 360: November 1, 2011 PC: November 3, 2011 3DS: November 22, 2011.

    Rating: 8/10