Sonic Generations Review

Upcoming

Sonic The Hedgehog #39

Wed May 12, 2021 28 d

Report: Test subjects S, A, and T are responding very well to experiments. Proceeding to phase three.

Sonic, Amy, and Tails are still stuck in Eggman’s evil tower and being subjected to his increasingly crazy tests. It doesn’t help that Tangle and Belle have unknowingly begun controlling the tower and are making it impossible for their friends to escape! Everyone’s limits are pushed as they try to make it out in time in “Test Run,” part three!

Sonic The Hedgehog #40

Wed Jun 2, 2021 Tentative

Tangle to the rescue! The brave lemur has jumped into the battle to save Sonic, Amy, and Tails from falling victim to Dr. Eggman’s latest experiment. Belle has a different kind of battle when she comes face-to-face with an old friend. Will the gang be able to escape unharmed? Find out in Evan Stanley’s epic conclusion to “Test Run”!

Sonic The Hedgehog #41

Wed Jun 16, 2021 Tentative

The Deadly Six are still on the loose and attacking towns. Jewel the Beetle recruits Sonic’s friends the Chaotix to find and stop the Zeti, but Zavok of the Deadly Six is looking for his minions, too—he’s angrier than ever and wants to reunite. The Chaotix will have to act quickly to outsmart the Deadly Six!

Sonic the Hedgehog: 30th Anniversary Special

Wed Jun 23, 2021 Tentative

After 30 years of going fast, it’s time for fans to celebrate the speediest hedgehog of all time! It’s an unbelievable birthday celebration for Sonic the Hedgehog with his first Classic Sonic special!

First, in “Seasons of Chaos” by longtime Sonic scribe Ian Flynn and artists Aaron Hammerstrom & Reggie Graham, Sonic goes on an adventure from pleasant spring valleys to wintry wonderlands in search of the Chaos Emeralds. But Sonic’s not alone, with a little help from his friends Miles “Tails” Prower, Knuckles the Echidna, Amy Rose, Mighty the Armadillo, and Ray the Flying Squirrel, they’ll race, fight, and fly their way to victory against the baddest of baddies!

Then, in “Dr. Eggman’s Birthday,” the vile, villainous Dr. Eggman takes center stage in a story written by New York Times bestseller Gale Galligan (The Babysitters Club)! And how does the bad doctor celebrate the occasion? Only his Badniks know for sure…

Finally, in “Sonic Learns to Drive,” Sonic’s up against a tough challenge: Driving! When the fastest thing alive can outrun any car, will Sonic have the patience to learn… or will he finally get left in the dust? Written by the hosts of My Brother, My Brother, and Me, The Adventure Zone, and New York Times bestsellers, the McElroy Brothers!

Grab a slice of chili dog cake and don’t get left in the dust on the most way past cool book of the year!

Sonic The Hedgehog #42

Wed Jul 7, 2021 Tentative

Zeti Hunt, part two! Now that Zavok has his pack, it’s time for them to make a big move. But Jewel the Beetle, newly appointed Restoration leader, has called on Sonic, Tails, and the Chaotix to run interference. Will they be able to stop the Zeti and make it home in time for spaghetti!?

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Fri Apr 8, 2022 359 d

Sequel to the 2020 movie.

  • Categories

  • Article Archives

  • Recent Posts

    View More

    Sonic Generations Review

    Introduction:

    “Sonic the Hedgehog” is a huge franchise appearing in comics, shows, movies, and, of course, games and has inspired the lives of many gamers. After the completion of “Sonic Unleashed,” Sonic Team discussed ways to celebrate the blue blur’s 20th anniversary. The team decided to split the gameplay between Classic and Modern. Dimps helped develop the 3DS version of the game which the team decided to start from scratch and make the game a celebration of Sonic’s portable history. Ports for the Wii, DS, and Playstation Portable (PSP) were scrapped, however. On Nov. 1, 2011, “Sonic Generations” was released for Playstation 3 and Xbox 360. The Windows version was released two days later and the 3DS game came out on the 22nd. So, is this game a timeless Classic? Or a Modern flop?

    Note: I will be reviewing the PC version for this review.

    The Story:

    Sonic was having a birthday party with his friends but was interrupted by a time-traveling entity known as the Time Eater. He scatters

    Sonic Generations Image
    Image Courtesy of Sega

    Sonic’s friends into different places of time and Sonic ends up in a space void of time. In order to restore time, he and his past self, Classic

    Sonic, must go through the levels of his past.

    The story is….fine. As you go through the game, characters will come back but they don’t do much except challenge you in certain missions. We only see Robotnik (Classic Eggman) at the end of the game and even then it seems Modern Eggman takes the spotlight from him. Overall, it’s quite lacking and I wish we saw more of these characters interact. I give the story a B.

    The Gameplay:

    Each world is divided into two acts, the first act is for Classic Sonic which is a 2D version of that level. The second act is a 3D version of the level where you play as Modern Sonic. “What are the differences between Modern and Classic Sonic,” you ask? Well, Classic Sonic functions similarly to his entries in the Genesis games. He can spin-dash and destroy enemies by hopping on them. Modern Sonic is a little more complicated. He uses a homing attack that he can target at enemies and destroy them and can boost which makes him go incredibly fast. In order to fill the boost gauge, he must collect rings, destroy enemies, or perform tricks.

    Besides the acts, there are also side missions that you can do to unlock artwork for Generations and previous Sonic games along with music from these previous games. These missions consist of challenges such as racing against a clone, surviving with a limited amount of rings, avoiding obstacles in order to reach the goal, etc.

    Sonic Generations Image
    Image Courtesy of Steam

    I had some fun with the gameplay. It was really fun exploring the 3D versions of 2D levels like Chemical Plant and Sky Sanctuary along with the 2D versions of City Escape and Crisis City. My two complaints are that Classic Sonic feels a bit slippery which can make platforming a pain and the final boss felt very boring to me. It just didn’t feel as exciting and the characters would just keep talking and talking and talking and not actually do anything (just look up “that looks like a homing shot”). I give the gameplay an A-.

    The Soundtrack:

    The soundtrack is made up of classic and modern remixes of levels for their respective acts. My favorite is the classic remix of City Escape. As you unlock music, you can select the unlocked music and play it as you play the acts or side missions. I loved unlocking music. However, I wish more of the unlocked songs were remixed. There are a few unlocked songs that are remixes (Toxic Caves being my favorite) but they seem to be slightly different from the original. I give the soundtrack an A.

    Conclusion:

    To conclude, I enjoyed playing this game. Its biggest flaw is its story but overall, it’s a good game. I give it an 8/10.

    At a Glance: Sonic Generations

    Summary: Restore time to the world as you explore levels old and new as both Classic and Modern Sonic.

    Rated: E for Everyone: Cartoon Violence

    Price: Xbox 360: $14.99 (Gamestop) PS3: $19.99 (Gamestop) 3DS: $24.99 (Gamestop) PC: $19.99 (Steam)

    Distributor: Sega

    Systems: Xbox 360, PS3, 3DS, PC

    Release Date: PS3 and Xbox 360: November 1, 2011 PC: November 3, 2011 3DS: November 22, 2011.

    Rating: 8/10