Sonic HQ

Upcoming

Sonic The Hedgehog #47

Wed Dec 22, 2021 24 d

The ROAD TO #50 continues here! Enjoy a TEN-ISSUE-long adventure leading up to the EPIC SHOWDOWN in milestone issue #50.

Amy, Tangle, Jewel, and Belle’s peaceful camping trip is still up in flames… literally. The fire is blazing but all the tension from before has melted away and the heroines are ready to save the day! Plus, being confronted with such danger has some reevaluating their futures… Find out more in the final part of “Trial by Fire”!

Imposter Syndrome #2

Wed Jan 12, 2022 45 d

The ROAD TO #50 continues here! Enjoy a TEN-ISSUE-long-adventure leading up to the EPIC SHOWDOWN in milestone issue #50.Surge and Kit are put to the test! Dr. Starline is almost ready to launch his grand plan, but first he must ensure his creations can perform under pressure. But more powerful doesn’t always mean better… can Surge and Kit live up to the heroes that inspired their creation?

Sonic The Hedgehog #48

Wed Feb 23, 2022 87 d

The ROAD TO #50 continues here! Enjoy a TEN-ISSUE-LONG-ADVENTURE leading up to the EPIC SHOWDOWN in milestone issue #50.

The Chaotix are on the case! Central City has been turned upside-down by unmanageable traffic, and reports of lightning and water moving in odd ways have the city’s emergency services scratching their heads. Is it a sewer-dwelling crocodile, a pair of unruly brothers, or something more sinister? Whatever it may be, Vector, Espio, and Charmy are sure to uncover the truth.

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Fri Apr 8, 2022 131 d

Sequel to the 2020 movie.

  • Categories

  • Article Archives

  • Recent Posts

    View More

    Sonic Rush Review

    Introduction

    No matter how daunting the task may be, you can always count on your friends to be there to support you. This is the theme of “Sonic Rush.”

    Developed by Dimps and Sonic Team, the game was announced at the 2004 Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3). A demo was featured in that expo a year later and won IGN’s “Biggest Surprise” award. On Nov. 15, 2005, “Sonic Rush” was released. The game was well-received. It received an 8.2/10 from Gamespot and 9/10 from Nintendo Life and IGN. So, is the game What U Need? Or was the game Rushed?

    The Story

    You play as two characters, Sonic the Hedgehog and Blaze the Cat. Sonic Rush was the game that introduced Blaze. Blaze comes from another dimension where there are Sol Emeralds instead of Chaos Emeralds. As a princess in her world, she protects the Sol Emeralds. Dr. Eggman has teamed up with his counterpart Dr. Eggman Nega and took the Sol Emeralds which is causing a merging between Sonic Rush Imagethe two worlds.

    As Sonic, you and Tails fight Eggman Nega while trying to figure out what is going on with his dimension and find out who Blaze is.

    There isn’t much to say when it comes to Sonic’s story. What I’ve said about Sonic is pretty all of it. Blaze’s story is more interesting, however. She starts as a loner who never had a friend since she has guarded the Sol Emeralds all of her life (huh, reminds me of a certain echidna). Thanks to Cream, she starts to become more friendly and trusting. By the end, she teams up with Sonic to beat the two doctors. It is a great introduction to this new Sonic character. Overall, I love Blaze’s story but I am a bit disappointed by Sonic’s. I give the story an A-.

    The Gameplay

    When playing as the blue blur, the game plays similar to the Sonic Advance titles but with a few additions. This was the game that introduced boosting to the Sonic franchise. As you defeat enemies and perform tricks in the air, your boost gauge will increase. You can use it to go fast and enter the special stages. In the special stages, you use the stylus to control Sonic in 3D to collect rings to obtain the Chaos Emeralds. It plays similarly to the bonus stages from Sonic the Hedgehog 2.

    As Blaze, you collect the Sol Emeralds as you beat Dr. Eggman. She prefers to work alone but she meets Cream the Rabbit who becomes her friend as they go on their adventure. The game plays just like Sonic but her moves are fire-themed. She can also hover with her boots. There are no special stages as Blaze.

    Once you beat both stories and collect all the Chaos and Sol Emeralds, the Extra story will appear where you will have the final battle against the two doctors.

    I have a bone to pick with the game’s gameplay. This game can be very frustrating on many occasions. There are so many death pits in the game, cheap enemy placements, and bosses that can insta-kill you at times. My least favorite boss is the second to the final boss of the game (Egg King) which, not only as an insta-kill move that he does twice in the match but also uses moves that are nearly impossible to avoid which can be very frustrating when the boss level only provides nine rings. I have no problems with the special stages, however. Basically, it can be fun but also very frustrating. I give the gameplay a B-. Sonic Rush Image

    The Soundtrack

    Sonic Rush’s soundtrack has a very unique style to it. Hideki Naganuma (composer of Jet Set Radio), composed this game’s soundtrack. There are so many great tracks from this game like “Right There, Ride On,” “What U Need,” “A New Day” (probably my favorite song out of the soundtrack), and “Wrapped in Black.” Not to mention a few of these songs have remixes for Blaze’s story. I give the soundtrack an A+.

    Conclusion

    To conclude, I have mixed feelings with this one. It has a great soundtrack and Blaze’s story is pretty good. But the gameplay is just so frustrating and Sonic’s story is pretty lacking. I give the game a 7.8/10.

    At a Glance: Sonic Rush

    Summary: Stop Dr. Robotnik and Dr. Robotnik Nega’s plans and stop the merging of two dimensions.

    Rated: E for Everyone: Mild Cartoon Violence

    Price: $14.99 (Gamestop)

    Systems: Nintendo DS

    Distributor: Sega

    Release Date: November 15, 2005

    Rating: 7.8/10