Sonic Battle Review for the GBA

Upcoming

Sonic The Hedgehog #32

Sonic The Hedgehog #32

Wed Sep 23, 2020 Out Now!

The second half of the Metal Virus Saga epilogue. With all the chaos of the recent past still fresh in everyone's minds, Dr. Eggman launches a new assault-determined to take down his enemies once and for all.

This issue also marks Ian Flynn’s last issue on the main series (for now) with Evan Stanley taking over starting with #33.

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #1

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #1

Wed Oct 7, 2020 8 d

The mastermind behind the Metal Virus isn't done yet. Ian Flynn returns to answer: What happened to Dr. Starline?

The Shadowy Scientist is back to his evil antics in Bad Guys! And what better place to concoct nefarious plans than one of Dr. Eggman's abandoned bases? But that is easier said than done when badniks are guarding the entrance! Dr. Starline knows he can't do it alone, so he decides to recruit some familiar and not so friendly faces.

Sonic The Hedgehog #33

Sonic The Hedgehog #33

Wed Oct 28, 2020 29 d

Tails and Sonic try to solve how to fix their damaged ally, Omega. Elsewhere, Rouge and Shadow team up with Cream to win replacement parts for Omega through… Chao races!

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #2

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #2

Wed Oct 28, 2020 Tentative

From Sonic veterans Ian Flynn and Jack Lawrence comes “Smash & Grab,” an exciting story jam-packed with bad guys and badniks!

Some of Sonic’s worst enemies are back and badder than ever! Dr. Starline, Dr. Eggman’s former-right hand, has brought together Mimic, Rough, Tumble, and Zavok and promised them even more incredible power… if they can stop fighting each other and start fighting badniks to get to it!

Sonic The Hedgehog #34

Sonic The Hedgehog #34

Wed Oct 28, 2020 Tentative

It’s off to the races with Cream, Cheese, Amy, and Rouge! They have to keep up their winning streak or surrender Cheese to Clutch’s evil…clutches! Meanwhile, Sonic and Tails are being watched by a mysterious figure in Eggman’s seemingly abandoned base and Shadow investigates a mystery!

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #3

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #3

Wed Nov 11, 2020 Tentative

Who can you trust in a group of bad guys? Zavok and Mimic find out the hard way in “Trust Issues,” and are… less than happy. Meanwhile, Starline is struggling to maintain control of the rowdy group of villains.

Sonic The Hedgehog #35

Sonic The Hedgehog #35

Wed Nov 25, 2020 Tentative

Please keep your arms and legs inside the ride at all times, this is going to be a bumpy one! Rogue calls on Sonic and Tails for backup after the appearance of a hooded villain at White Park. The recently-revealed shadowy figure from Eggman’s base tags along, but can they really be trusted? All will be revealed in “Chao Races and Badnik Bases,” part three!

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #4

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #4

Wed Dec 23, 2020 Tentative

Dr. Eggman vs. the Bad Guys! Astonishingly, Dr. Starline’s managed to hold together his motley crew of criminals long enough to almost achieve his goal and see his plan to fruition. Unfortunately, when Dr. Eggman gets wind of their activities, he sets his sights on them. Will the Bad Guys stay together to scramble Eggman or will they crack? Find out in “No Honor Among Thieves,” the thrilling conclusion to Sonic the Hedgehog: Bad Guys!

Sonic The Hedgehog #36

Sonic The Hedgehog #36

Wed Dec 23, 2020 Tentative

Strap on your snowshoes, an avalanche is headed straight for White Park Chateau! Sonic and gang are going to have to act quickly if they want to save the White Park guests and stop the hooded figure from getting away with Tails! Join Evan Stanley for the action-packed conclusion of “Chao Races and Badnik Bases”

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Fri Apr 8, 2022 556 d

Sequel to the 2020 movie.

  • Categories

  • Article Archives

  • Forum Posts

  • Sonic Battle Review for the GBA

    Introduction:

    When you hear “Sonic Fighting Game,” what first comes to your mind? Do you think Sonic the Fighters? Maybe Sonic Smackdown? Or perhaps Sonic Forces: Speed Battle? When I hear it, I think of Sonic Battle for the Gameboy Advance (GBA). The game was released on Jan. 5, 2004, and received mixed reviews thanks to the design of the game and the skill points? So, is the game a forgotten classic? Or does it deserve to be overlooked by its fellow Sonic fighting games? 

    Sonic Battle Image
    Image Courtesy of the Sonic Fandom

    The Story:

    4000 years ago, an ancient civilization lived and created a robot called the Gizoid. Thousands of years later, Eggman has recovered the ancient robot and tries to use it but is unsuccessful. He disposes the piece of scrap in Emerald Beach and that is where our story begins.

    We meet Sonic the Hedgehog who spots the Gizoid and finds out that the robot has the ability to replicate his opponent’s moves. In order for the robot to get stronger both mentally and physically, it has to obtain chaos emeralds. Play as several characters such as Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, the Gizoid (now called Emerl), and others as they gather chaos emeralds for the robot and learn more about its past. 

    The story is actually pretty decent for a fighting game. Characters like Sonic and others aren’t the main focus, however, Emerl is. We see him grow from a silent protagonist to a sassy but kind robot. Despite the other characters not being the main focus, the game nailed the personalities of these characters INCLUDING Shadow (which is rare to see. To be fair, this game came out before Shadow the Hedgehog). The ending of the game was also a surprise for me. Not going to go too deep into it but it is probably one of my favorite endings in the Sonic franchise. Overall, while the story doesn’t give attention to most of the characters, it is pretty good. I give it an A-. 

    Sonic Battle Image
    Image Courtesy of the Sonic Fandom

    The Gameplay:

    The gameplay is where I have the most problems with. Each battle you play as 2D characters in a 3D arena. I found the battles to be very repetitive. I ended up just spamming the special attacks which get the job done pretty well. Another problem is the difficulty. Sometimes it can be very easy but the match afterward can be almost impossible because your opponents can kill you in two hits.

    As Emerl, you will collect skills that you can equip to the Gizoid. But the stronger the skill is, the more skill points it takes up. In order to increase it, you need to battle to gain more of those skill points. I would be fine with this if it weren’t for the fact you only get one skill point (or two on occasion) per battle. The weakest skills which you can equip (besides the ones you begin with) require at least 5 skill points. This means that if you want to use the skills you have, you’ll need to grind a lot. 

    The gameplay is fun at first but it starts to get very repetitive and frustratingly difficult by the time you are halfway through. I give it a B-. 

    The Soundtrack:

    The soundtrack is……fine. I don’t have any thoughts on it. It’s really not my taste. I give it a B.

    Conclusion:

    To conclude, this game is pretty meh. The story is pretty good for a fighting game but the gameplay is frustrating. I give the game a 6.8/10.

     

    At a Glance: Sonic Battle

    Summary: Collect Chaos Emeralds to strengthen Emerl’s power and discover the robot’s true origins. 

    Rated: E for Everyone: Mild Cartoon Violence

    Price: $11.99 (Gamestop)

    System: Gameboy Advance (GBA)

    Distributor: THQ

    Release Date: Jan. 5, 2004

    Rating: 6.8/10