Sonic Battle Review for the GBA

Upcoming

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #3

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #3

Wed Nov 25, 2020 0 d

Who can you trust in a group of bad guys? Zavok and Mimic find out the hard way in “Trust Issues,” and are… less than happy. Meanwhile, Starline is struggling to maintain control of the rowdy group of villains.

Sonic The Hedgehog #35

Sonic The Hedgehog #35

Wed Dec 2, 2020 7 d

Please keep your arms and legs inside the ride at all times, this is going to be a bumpy one! Rogue calls on Sonic and Tails for backup after the appearance of a hooded villain at White Park. The recently-revealed shadowy figure from Eggman’s base tags along, but can they really be trusted? All will be revealed in “Chao Races and Badnik Bases,” part three!

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #4

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #4

Wed Dec 23, 2020 28 d

Dr. Eggman vs. the Bad Guys! Astonishingly, Dr. Starline’s managed to hold together his motley crew of criminals long enough to almost achieve his goal and see his plan to fruition. Unfortunately, when Dr. Eggman gets wind of their activities, he sets his sights on them. Will the Bad Guys stay together to scramble Eggman or will they crack? Find out in “No Honor Among Thieves,” the thrilling conclusion to Sonic the Hedgehog: Bad Guys!

Sonic The Hedgehog #36

Sonic The Hedgehog #36

Wed Dec 30, 2020 35 d

Strap on your snowshoes, an avalanche is headed straight for White Park Chateau! Sonic and gang are going to have to act quickly if they want to save the White Park guests and stop the hooded figure from getting away with Tails! Join Evan Stanley for the action-packed conclusion of “Chao Races and Badnik Bases”

Sonic The Hedgehog #37

Sonic The Hedgehog #37

Wed Jan 13, 2021 49 d

There’s a new kid on the block! And a new… tower? While Tangle tries to initiate Belle into the Restoration, Sonic, Amy, and Tails investigate a mysterious looking tower that has popped up. Everyone is pushed to their limits in “Test Run”!

Sonic The Hedgehog #38

Sonic The Hedgehog #38

Wed Feb 17, 2021 84 d

Houston, there appears to be two hedgehogs and a fox floating through space…

Sonic, Amy, and Tails are stuck in a mysterious new Eggman base. Each room holds a challenging surprise and the hallways don’t make any sense! Can they find out how to escape unharmed? Meanwhile, Tangle and Belle sneak in to find the bots running the show and stumble into some trouble!

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Fri Apr 8, 2022 499 d

Sequel to the 2020 movie.

  • Categories

  • Article Archives

  • Recent Posts

    Sonic Battle Review for the GBA

    Introduction:

    When you hear “Sonic Fighting Game,” what first comes to your mind? Do you think Sonic the Fighters? Maybe Sonic Smackdown? Or perhaps Sonic Forces: Speed Battle? When I hear it, I think of Sonic Battle for the Gameboy Advance (GBA). The game was released on Jan. 5, 2004, and received mixed reviews thanks to the design of the game and the skill points? So, is the game a forgotten classic? Or does it deserve to be overlooked by its fellow Sonic fighting games? 

    Sonic Battle Image
    Image Courtesy of the Sonic Fandom

    The Story:

    4000 years ago, an ancient civilization lived and created a robot called the Gizoid. Thousands of years later, Eggman has recovered the ancient robot and tries to use it but is unsuccessful. He disposes the piece of scrap in Emerald Beach and that is where our story begins.

    We meet Sonic the Hedgehog who spots the Gizoid and finds out that the robot has the ability to replicate his opponent’s moves. In order for the robot to get stronger both mentally and physically, it has to obtain chaos emeralds. Play as several characters such as Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, the Gizoid (now called Emerl), and others as they gather chaos emeralds for the robot and learn more about its past. 

    The story is actually pretty decent for a fighting game. Characters like Sonic and others aren’t the main focus, however, Emerl is. We see him grow from a silent protagonist to a sassy but kind robot. Despite the other characters not being the main focus, the game nailed the personalities of these characters INCLUDING Shadow (which is rare to see. To be fair, this game came out before Shadow the Hedgehog). The ending of the game was also a surprise for me. Not going to go too deep into it but it is probably one of my favorite endings in the Sonic franchise. Overall, while the story doesn’t give attention to most of the characters, it is pretty good. I give it an A-. 

    Sonic Battle Image
    Image Courtesy of the Sonic Fandom

    The Gameplay:

    The gameplay is where I have the most problems with. Each battle you play as 2D characters in a 3D arena. I found the battles to be very repetitive. I ended up just spamming the special attacks which get the job done pretty well. Another problem is the difficulty. Sometimes it can be very easy but the match afterward can be almost impossible because your opponents can kill you in two hits.

    As Emerl, you will collect skills that you can equip to the Gizoid. But the stronger the skill is, the more skill points it takes up. In order to increase it, you need to battle to gain more of those skill points. I would be fine with this if it weren’t for the fact you only get one skill point (or two on occasion) per battle. The weakest skills which you can equip (besides the ones you begin with) require at least 5 skill points. This means that if you want to use the skills you have, you’ll need to grind a lot. 

    The gameplay is fun at first but it starts to get very repetitive and frustratingly difficult by the time you are halfway through. I give it a B-. 

    The Soundtrack:

    The soundtrack is……fine. I don’t have any thoughts on it. It’s really not my taste. I give it a B.

    Conclusion:

    To conclude, this game is pretty meh. The story is pretty good for a fighting game but the gameplay is frustrating. I give the game a 6.8/10.

     

    At a Glance: Sonic Battle

    Summary: Collect Chaos Emeralds to strengthen Emerl’s power and discover the robot’s true origins. 

    Rated: E for Everyone: Mild Cartoon Violence

    Price: $11.99 (Gamestop)

    System: Gameboy Advance (GBA)

    Distributor: THQ

    Release Date: Jan. 5, 2004

    Rating: 6.8/10