Sonic HQ

Upcoming

Sonic The Hedgehog #52

Wed Aug 24, 2022 11 d

Every Badnik is on high alert in Eggperial City! It’s going to take some quick thinking from Sonic and crew to escape undetected. Meanwhile, Surge plots her comeback-she needs more power, and she needs it now.

Sonic The Hedgehog #53

Wed Sep 28, 2022 46 d

Surge is angry, and she’s about to make it everyone’s problem… At least everyone in Central City. Sonic’s friends race to stop her rampage, but there’s something different about her. Something…more powerful.

StH: Scrapnik Island #1

Wed Oct 19, 2022 67 d

It was a dark and stormy night. Harsh rain from an unnatural storm fell upon Sonic the Hedgehog and Miles “Tails” Prower as they flew above the sea in the Tornado. Lightning strikes, causing the plane to spiral downward into a crash landing on an uncharted island. What Sonic and Tails will soon learn is that the island is no island at all, but the floating remains of the Death Egg. Scrapped, rusted, and malfunctioning Badniks call this place home. Can the friends survive isolation on an island of robots programmed to destroy them?

Sonic The Hedgehog #54

Wed Oct 26, 2022 74 d

Coming to you live from Central City! There appears to be a malfunction with all electronics. Traffic lights are all green, TVs are smoking, and microwaves are beeping nonstop. Can Sonic the Hedgehog save us by lunchtime? I need to warm up my burrito! Stay tuned! Sonic and Tails race to Central City to stop Surge’s rampage, but they’re no match for her this time around.

StH: Scrapnik Island #2

Wed Nov 30, 2022 Tentative

Sonic The Hedgehog 3

Fri Dec 20, 2024 860 d

  • Categories

  • Article Archives

  • Recent Posts

    SHQ Twitter

    Sonic Battle Review for the GBA

    Introduction:

    When you hear “Sonic Fighting Game,” what first comes to your mind? Do you think Sonic the Fighters? Maybe Sonic Smackdown? Or perhaps Sonic Forces: Speed Battle? When I hear it, I think of Sonic Battle for the Gameboy Advance (GBA). The game was released on Jan. 5, 2004, and received mixed reviews thanks to the design of the game and the skill points? So, is the game a forgotten classic? Or does it deserve to be overlooked by its fellow Sonic fighting games? 

    Sonic Battle Image
    Image Courtesy of the Sonic Fandom

    The Story:

    4000 years ago, an ancient civilization lived and created a robot called the Gizoid. Thousands of years later, Eggman has recovered the ancient robot and tries to use it but is unsuccessful. He disposes the piece of scrap in Emerald Beach and that is where our story begins.

    We meet Sonic the Hedgehog who spots the Gizoid and finds out that the robot has the ability to replicate his opponent’s moves. In order for the robot to get stronger both mentally and physically, it has to obtain chaos emeralds. Play as several characters such as Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, the Gizoid (now called Emerl), and others as they gather chaos emeralds for the robot and learn more about its past. 

    The story is actually pretty decent for a fighting game. Characters like Sonic and others aren’t the main focus, however, Emerl is. We see him grow from a silent protagonist to a sassy but kind robot. Despite the other characters not being the main focus, the game nailed the personalities of these characters INCLUDING Shadow (which is rare to see. To be fair, this game came out before Shadow the Hedgehog). The ending of the game was also a surprise for me. Not going to go too deep into it but it is probably one of my favorite endings in the Sonic franchise. Overall, while the story doesn’t give attention to most of the characters, it is pretty good. I give it an A-. 

    Sonic Battle Image
    Image Courtesy of the Sonic Fandom

    The Gameplay:

    The gameplay is where I have the most problems with. Each battle you play as 2D characters in a 3D arena. I found the battles to be very repetitive. I ended up just spamming the special attacks which get the job done pretty well. Another problem is the difficulty. Sometimes it can be very easy but the match afterward can be almost impossible because your opponents can kill you in two hits.

    As Emerl, you will collect skills that you can equip to the Gizoid. But the stronger the skill is, the more skill points it takes up. In order to increase it, you need to battle to gain more of those skill points. I would be fine with this if it weren’t for the fact you only get one skill point (or two on occasion) per battle. The weakest skills which you can equip (besides the ones you begin with) require at least 5 skill points. This means that if you want to use the skills you have, you’ll need to grind a lot. 

    The gameplay is fun at first but it starts to get very repetitive and frustratingly difficult by the time you are halfway through. I give it a B-. 

    The Soundtrack:

    The soundtrack is……fine. I don’t have any thoughts on it. It’s really not my taste. I give it a B.

    Conclusion:

    To conclude, this game is pretty meh. The story is pretty good for a fighting game but the gameplay is frustrating. I give the game a 6.8/10.

     

    At a Glance: Sonic Battle

    Summary: Collect Chaos Emeralds to strengthen Emerl’s power and discover the robot’s true origins. 

    Rated: E for Everyone: Mild Cartoon Violence

    Price: $11.99 (Gamestop)

    System: Gameboy Advance (GBA)

    Distributor: THQ

    Release Date: Jan. 5, 2004

    Rating: 6.8/10