Sonic HQ

Upcoming

Sonic The Hedgehog #44

Wed Sep 15, 2021 Out Now!

MISSING: Belle the Tinkerer-doll-like look, blue eyes, made of wood, usually wears a green hat, and is known for being clumsy.

The search for Belle begins! Sonic and the Chaotix search far and wide for their new friend as she fights to escape. But will that be enough, or have the bad guys already won…? And where have the Zeti gone? Find out the conclusion to “Zeti Hunt”!

Sonic The Hedgehog #45

Wed Oct 13, 2021 24 d

The ROAD TO #50 starts here! Enjoy a TEN-ISSUE long adventure leading up to the EPIC SHOWDOWN in milestone issue #50.

ROAD TRIP!!! The girls; Amy, Jewel, Tangle, and Belle, are heading off on a well-deserved camping trip. Between Dr. Eggman, Dr. Starline, and the Deadly Six, life has been a bit stressful, so they hope rest and relaxation will bring them some peace. Unfortunately… tensions are high and Amy’s fortune card readings leave everyone feeling confused. Can the girls extinguish the awkwardness before it burns out of control? Find out in “TRIAL BY FIRE,” part one by Evan Stanley.

Sonic The Hedgehog #46

Wed Oct 27, 2021 38 d

The ROAD TO #50 continues here! Enjoy a TEN-ISSUE long adventure leading up to the EPIC SHOWDOWN in milestone issue #50.

This is not a drill! In “Trial by Fire,” part two by Evan Stanley, forest fire threatens the ecosystem and the campers-luckily, Amy, Tangle, Jewel, and Belle are there to help! The Heroines must overcome their differences and work together to save the day.

Imposter Syndrome #1

Wed Nov 10, 2021 52 d

The ROAD TO #50 continues here! Enjoy a TEN-ISSUE long adventure leading up to the EPIC SHOWDOWN in milestone issue #50.

A surge of imposters spells trouble for Sonic the Hedgehog, Tails, and even Eggman! Dr. Starline is pulling every tool from his kit as he creates his fastest and smartest inventions. An all new mini-series from Sonic writer Ian Flynn, Imposter Syndrome #1 will have readers seeing double!

Sonic The Hedgehog #47

Wed Dec 22, 2021 94 d

The ROAD TO #50 continues here! Enjoy a TEN-ISSUE-long adventure leading up to the EPIC SHOWDOWN in milestone issue #50.

Amy, Tangle, Jewel, and Belle’s peaceful camping trip is still up in flames… literally. The fire is blazing but all the tension from before has melted away and the heroines are ready to save the day! Plus, being confronted with such danger has some reevaluating their futures… Find out more in the final part of “Trial by Fire”!

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Fri Apr 8, 2022 201 d

Sequel to the 2020 movie.

  • Categories

  • Article Archives

  • Recent Posts

    View More

    Sonic the Hedgehog (1991) Review

    Sonic the Hedgehog
    Image Courtesy of Sonic Fandom

    Do you know what I don’t like about retro games during the NES era? You would have to start ALL OVER once you get a game over. To go through the same slow levels over and over again feels just dull and repetitive sometimes. This is how Yuji Naka felt when playing Super Mario Bros. He wanted the game to be faster and Sega wanted a mascot. So after a lot of brainstorming including a rabbit, an armadillo, and a certain man who is later used as Dr. Eggman. But the character they stuck with was Mr. Needlemouse who was a hedgehog.

    On June 23, 1991, Sonic the Hedgehog was released bundled with the Sega Genesis. Thanks to this, the Genesis sold about 15 million copies. I recall getting this game when I ordered Sonic Adventure at Gamestop. For some reason, I accidentally got the Genesis cartridge of Sonic the Hedgehog. So, is this game way past cool? Or is it no good?

    Note: I will be reviewing the original Genesis version *throws GBA version in the trash*

    The evil Dr. Ivo Robotnik has been kidnapping animals and trapping them into robots. As Sonic the Hedgehog, you must stop Robotnik’s scheme and save the animals. 

    That is basically the story. Quite lacking but at least there is a story in the game. I give it a C+. 

    Image Courtesy of Sonic Fandom

    Sonic’s gameplay is quite simple. As you run, you go faster and faster and the only other thing Sonic can do is jump. This simplicity of controls makes it quite easy to learn. I love running around very fast through the game and saving flickies by destroying robots on your way. If you reach the goal of the act/level with at least 50 rings, you will see a giant ring. Go through it and it takes you to a bonus level where you need to get the chaos emerald. These bonus levels aren’t really fun as it is very easy for you to accidentally exit them. Basically, you are in this little maze where Sonic is falling in his ball form. You need to rotate the maze and get him to the Chaos Emerald. If you fall into the exits, the bonus level is over. I’m not a fan of the bonus levels in this game.

    One of the main problems with this game, however, is the level design. While Green Hill Zone (the first level) is one of the best stages in the entire game, the levels afterward are quite sub-par. The first level allows you to roam freely and test your speed skills but the other levels are very restrictive and linear. I really wish the game allowed you to experiment with your speed just like the first level. Overall, I think the game had the right idea but executed it poorly. I give it a B-.

    I really like the soundtrack for this game. From Green Hill Zone to the Star Light Zone, the songs in this game are great. I give it a solid A. 

    To conclude, this game is fine. It had a good idea of what it was trying to accomplish but, after the first level, it was poorly executed. What saves this game is its amazing music. I give it a 6.8/10.

     

    At a Glance: Sonic the Hedgehog (Genesis) 

    Summary: The evil Dr. Robotnik has captured the animals and encased them in robots. Free the creatures and defeat the evil doctor.

    Price: $4.99 (Gamestop) 

    Distributor: Sega

    Systems: Sega Genesis, Gameboy Advance, Nintendo 3DS, etc. 

    Release Date: June 23, 1991

    Rating: 6.8/10.