Sonic HQ

Upcoming

Sonic The Hedgehog #55

Wed Dec 7, 2022 9 d

Determined to end Sonic once and for all, Surge takes the fight home to Starline Base Sigma. But lingering ghosts and visitors threaten Surge’s precarious advantage over everyone.

Sonic Prime Debut

Thu Dec 15, 2022 17 d

StH: Scrapnik Island #3

Wed Dec 21, 2022 23 d

The call is coming from within the Death Egg… Sonic is in big trouble and Tails must rush in to save him from Mecha Sonic who is toying with his head…LITERALLY!

Sonic The Hedgehog #56

Wed Jan 4, 2023 37 d

SURGE VS. SONIC round two! Surge is more powerful than ever, but with each move, her power becomes more and more erratic. She’s out of control and only a certain blue guy can turn the tides…

StH: Scrapnik Island #4

Wed Jan 18, 2023 51 d

We all go a little mad sometimes…especially when you were created by an evil scientist. Poor Mecha Sonic never stood a chance. As his plan reaches its final stages, Tails, Sigma, and the Scrapniks race around the Death Egg to save Sonic.

Sonic The Hedgehog #57

Wed Jan 25, 2023 58 d

With Surge finally out of their quills, the Restoration turns their attention to bringing down the Eggperial City. It’s growing, volatile, and dredging up the surrounding environment… Jewel sends Sonic, Tangle, and Whisper to investigate, but it unearths some unwanted reminders of the past.

Sonic The Hedgehog #58

Wed Mar 1, 2023 93 d

Sonic to Restoration HQ: Requesting backup immediately! The Eggperial City is too much for Sonic, Tangle, Whisper, and Lanolin to handle on their own, so it’s Tails, Amy, Silver, and Blaze to the rescue! With two teams on the case, surely victory will be achieved without a hitch, right?!

Sonic The Hedgehog 3

Fri Dec 20, 2024 753 d

  • Categories

  • Article Archives

  • Recent Posts

    SHQ Twitter

    Sonic the Hedgehog (1991) Review

    Sonic the Hedgehog
    Image Courtesy of Sonic Fandom

    Do you know what I don’t like about retro games during the NES era? You would have to start ALL OVER once you get a game over. To go through the same slow levels over and over again feels just dull and repetitive sometimes. This is how Yuji Naka felt when playing Super Mario Bros. He wanted the game to be faster and Sega wanted a mascot. So after a lot of brainstorming including a rabbit, an armadillo, and a certain man who is later used as Dr. Eggman. But the character they stuck with was Mr. Needlemouse who was a hedgehog.

    On June 23, 1991, Sonic the Hedgehog was released bundled with the Sega Genesis. Thanks to this, the Genesis sold about 15 million copies. I recall getting this game when I ordered Sonic Adventure at Gamestop. For some reason, I accidentally got the Genesis cartridge of Sonic the Hedgehog. So, is this game way past cool? Or is it no good?

    Note: I will be reviewing the original Genesis version *throws GBA version in the trash*

    The evil Dr. Ivo Robotnik has been kidnapping animals and trapping them into robots. As Sonic the Hedgehog, you must stop Robotnik’s scheme and save the animals. 

    That is basically the story. Quite lacking but at least there is a story in the game. I give it a C+. 

    Image Courtesy of Sonic Fandom

    Sonic’s gameplay is quite simple. As you run, you go faster and faster and the only other thing Sonic can do is jump. This simplicity of controls makes it quite easy to learn. I love running around very fast through the game and saving flickies by destroying robots on your way. If you reach the goal of the act/level with at least 50 rings, you will see a giant ring. Go through it and it takes you to a bonus level where you need to get the chaos emerald. These bonus levels aren’t really fun as it is very easy for you to accidentally exit them. Basically, you are in this little maze where Sonic is falling in his ball form. You need to rotate the maze and get him to the Chaos Emerald. If you fall into the exits, the bonus level is over. I’m not a fan of the bonus levels in this game.

    One of the main problems with this game, however, is the level design. While Green Hill Zone (the first level) is one of the best stages in the entire game, the levels afterward are quite sub-par. The first level allows you to roam freely and test your speed skills but the other levels are very restrictive and linear. I really wish the game allowed you to experiment with your speed just like the first level. Overall, I think the game had the right idea but executed it poorly. I give it a B-.

    I really like the soundtrack for this game. From Green Hill Zone to the Star Light Zone, the songs in this game are great. I give it a solid A. 

    To conclude, this game is fine. It had a good idea of what it was trying to accomplish but, after the first level, it was poorly executed. What saves this game is its amazing music. I give it a 6.8/10.

     

    At a Glance: Sonic the Hedgehog (Genesis) 

    Summary: The evil Dr. Robotnik has captured the animals and encased them in robots. Free the creatures and defeat the evil doctor.

    Price: $4.99 (Gamestop) 

    Distributor: Sega

    Systems: Sega Genesis, Gameboy Advance, Nintendo 3DS, etc. 

    Release Date: June 23, 1991

    Rating: 6.8/10.