Sonic the Hedgehog (1991) Review

Upcoming

Sonic The Hedgehog #39

Wed May 12, 2021 28 d

Report: Test subjects S, A, and T are responding very well to experiments. Proceeding to phase three.

Sonic, Amy, and Tails are still stuck in Eggman’s evil tower and being subjected to his increasingly crazy tests. It doesn’t help that Tangle and Belle have unknowingly begun controlling the tower and are making it impossible for their friends to escape! Everyone’s limits are pushed as they try to make it out in time in “Test Run,” part three!

Sonic The Hedgehog #40

Wed Jun 2, 2021 Tentative

Tangle to the rescue! The brave lemur has jumped into the battle to save Sonic, Amy, and Tails from falling victim to Dr. Eggman’s latest experiment. Belle has a different kind of battle when she comes face-to-face with an old friend. Will the gang be able to escape unharmed? Find out in Evan Stanley’s epic conclusion to “Test Run”!

Sonic The Hedgehog #41

Wed Jun 16, 2021 Tentative

The Deadly Six are still on the loose and attacking towns. Jewel the Beetle recruits Sonic’s friends the Chaotix to find and stop the Zeti, but Zavok of the Deadly Six is looking for his minions, too—he’s angrier than ever and wants to reunite. The Chaotix will have to act quickly to outsmart the Deadly Six!

Sonic the Hedgehog: 30th Anniversary Special

Wed Jun 23, 2021 Tentative

After 30 years of going fast, it’s time for fans to celebrate the speediest hedgehog of all time! It’s an unbelievable birthday celebration for Sonic the Hedgehog with his first Classic Sonic special!

First, in “Seasons of Chaos” by longtime Sonic scribe Ian Flynn and artists Aaron Hammerstrom & Reggie Graham, Sonic goes on an adventure from pleasant spring valleys to wintry wonderlands in search of the Chaos Emeralds. But Sonic’s not alone, with a little help from his friends Miles “Tails” Prower, Knuckles the Echidna, Amy Rose, Mighty the Armadillo, and Ray the Flying Squirrel, they’ll race, fight, and fly their way to victory against the baddest of baddies!

Then, in “Dr. Eggman’s Birthday,” the vile, villainous Dr. Eggman takes center stage in a story written by New York Times bestseller Gale Galligan (The Babysitters Club)! And how does the bad doctor celebrate the occasion? Only his Badniks know for sure…

Finally, in “Sonic Learns to Drive,” Sonic’s up against a tough challenge: Driving! When the fastest thing alive can outrun any car, will Sonic have the patience to learn… or will he finally get left in the dust? Written by the hosts of My Brother, My Brother, and Me, The Adventure Zone, and New York Times bestsellers, the McElroy Brothers!

Grab a slice of chili dog cake and don’t get left in the dust on the most way past cool book of the year!

Sonic The Hedgehog #42

Wed Jul 7, 2021 Tentative

Zeti Hunt, part two! Now that Zavok has his pack, it’s time for them to make a big move. But Jewel the Beetle, newly appointed Restoration leader, has called on Sonic, Tails, and the Chaotix to run interference. Will they be able to stop the Zeti and make it home in time for spaghetti!?

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Fri Apr 8, 2022 359 d

Sequel to the 2020 movie.

  • Categories

  • Article Archives

  • Recent Posts

    View More

    Sonic the Hedgehog (1991) Review

    Sonic the Hedgehog
    Image Courtesy of Sonic Fandom

    Do you know what I don’t like about retro games during the NES era? You would have to start ALL OVER once you get a game over. To go through the same slow levels over and over again feels just dull and repetitive sometimes. This is how Yuji Naka felt when playing Super Mario Bros. He wanted the game to be faster and Sega wanted a mascot. So after a lot of brainstorming including a rabbit, an armadillo, and a certain man who is later used as Dr. Eggman. But the character they stuck with was Mr. Needlemouse who was a hedgehog.

    On June 23, 1991, Sonic the Hedgehog was released bundled with the Sega Genesis. Thanks to this, the Genesis sold about 15 million copies. I recall getting this game when I ordered Sonic Adventure at Gamestop. For some reason, I accidentally got the Genesis cartridge of Sonic the Hedgehog. So, is this game way past cool? Or is it no good?

    Note: I will be reviewing the original Genesis version *throws GBA version in the trash*

    The evil Dr. Ivo Robotnik has been kidnapping animals and trapping them into robots. As Sonic the Hedgehog, you must stop Robotnik’s scheme and save the animals. 

    That is basically the story. Quite lacking but at least there is a story in the game. I give it a C+. 

    Image Courtesy of Sonic Fandom

    Sonic’s gameplay is quite simple. As you run, you go faster and faster and the only other thing Sonic can do is jump. This simplicity of controls makes it quite easy to learn. I love running around very fast through the game and saving flickies by destroying robots on your way. If you reach the goal of the act/level with at least 50 rings, you will see a giant ring. Go through it and it takes you to a bonus level where you need to get the chaos emerald. These bonus levels aren’t really fun as it is very easy for you to accidentally exit them. Basically, you are in this little maze where Sonic is falling in his ball form. You need to rotate the maze and get him to the Chaos Emerald. If you fall into the exits, the bonus level is over. I’m not a fan of the bonus levels in this game.

    One of the main problems with this game, however, is the level design. While Green Hill Zone (the first level) is one of the best stages in the entire game, the levels afterward are quite sub-par. The first level allows you to roam freely and test your speed skills but the other levels are very restrictive and linear. I really wish the game allowed you to experiment with your speed just like the first level. Overall, I think the game had the right idea but executed it poorly. I give it a B-.

    I really like the soundtrack for this game. From Green Hill Zone to the Star Light Zone, the songs in this game are great. I give it a solid A. 

    To conclude, this game is fine. It had a good idea of what it was trying to accomplish but, after the first level, it was poorly executed. What saves this game is its amazing music. I give it a 6.8/10.

     

    At a Glance: Sonic the Hedgehog (Genesis) 

    Summary: The evil Dr. Robotnik has captured the animals and encased them in robots. Free the creatures and defeat the evil doctor.

    Price: $4.99 (Gamestop) 

    Distributor: Sega

    Systems: Sega Genesis, Gameboy Advance, Nintendo 3DS, etc. 

    Release Date: June 23, 1991

    Rating: 6.8/10.