Sonic HQ

Upcoming

Sonic The Hedgehog #52

Wed Aug 24, 2022 11 d

Every Badnik is on high alert in Eggperial City! It’s going to take some quick thinking from Sonic and crew to escape undetected. Meanwhile, Surge plots her comeback-she needs more power, and she needs it now.

Sonic The Hedgehog #53

Wed Sep 28, 2022 46 d

Surge is angry, and she’s about to make it everyone’s problem… At least everyone in Central City. Sonic’s friends race to stop her rampage, but there’s something different about her. Something…more powerful.

StH: Scrapnik Island #1

Wed Oct 19, 2022 67 d

It was a dark and stormy night. Harsh rain from an unnatural storm fell upon Sonic the Hedgehog and Miles “Tails” Prower as they flew above the sea in the Tornado. Lightning strikes, causing the plane to spiral downward into a crash landing on an uncharted island. What Sonic and Tails will soon learn is that the island is no island at all, but the floating remains of the Death Egg. Scrapped, rusted, and malfunctioning Badniks call this place home. Can the friends survive isolation on an island of robots programmed to destroy them?

Sonic The Hedgehog #54

Wed Oct 26, 2022 74 d

Coming to you live from Central City! There appears to be a malfunction with all electronics. Traffic lights are all green, TVs are smoking, and microwaves are beeping nonstop. Can Sonic the Hedgehog save us by lunchtime? I need to warm up my burrito! Stay tuned! Sonic and Tails race to Central City to stop Surge’s rampage, but they’re no match for her this time around.

StH: Scrapnik Island #2

Wed Nov 30, 2022 Tentative

Sonic The Hedgehog 3

Fri Dec 20, 2024 860 d

  • Categories

  • Article Archives

  • Recent Posts

    SHQ Twitter

    Sonic the Hedgehog (1991) Review

    Sonic the Hedgehog
    Image Courtesy of Sonic Fandom

    Do you know what I don’t like about retro games during the NES era? You would have to start ALL OVER once you get a game over. To go through the same slow levels over and over again feels just dull and repetitive sometimes. This is how Yuji Naka felt when playing Super Mario Bros. He wanted the game to be faster and Sega wanted a mascot. So after a lot of brainstorming including a rabbit, an armadillo, and a certain man who is later used as Dr. Eggman. But the character they stuck with was Mr. Needlemouse who was a hedgehog.

    On June 23, 1991, Sonic the Hedgehog was released bundled with the Sega Genesis. Thanks to this, the Genesis sold about 15 million copies. I recall getting this game when I ordered Sonic Adventure at Gamestop. For some reason, I accidentally got the Genesis cartridge of Sonic the Hedgehog. So, is this game way past cool? Or is it no good?

    Note: I will be reviewing the original Genesis version *throws GBA version in the trash*

    The evil Dr. Ivo Robotnik has been kidnapping animals and trapping them into robots. As Sonic the Hedgehog, you must stop Robotnik’s scheme and save the animals. 

    That is basically the story. Quite lacking but at least there is a story in the game. I give it a C+. 

    Image Courtesy of Sonic Fandom

    Sonic’s gameplay is quite simple. As you run, you go faster and faster and the only other thing Sonic can do is jump. This simplicity of controls makes it quite easy to learn. I love running around very fast through the game and saving flickies by destroying robots on your way. If you reach the goal of the act/level with at least 50 rings, you will see a giant ring. Go through it and it takes you to a bonus level where you need to get the chaos emerald. These bonus levels aren’t really fun as it is very easy for you to accidentally exit them. Basically, you are in this little maze where Sonic is falling in his ball form. You need to rotate the maze and get him to the Chaos Emerald. If you fall into the exits, the bonus level is over. I’m not a fan of the bonus levels in this game.

    One of the main problems with this game, however, is the level design. While Green Hill Zone (the first level) is one of the best stages in the entire game, the levels afterward are quite sub-par. The first level allows you to roam freely and test your speed skills but the other levels are very restrictive and linear. I really wish the game allowed you to experiment with your speed just like the first level. Overall, I think the game had the right idea but executed it poorly. I give it a B-.

    I really like the soundtrack for this game. From Green Hill Zone to the Star Light Zone, the songs in this game are great. I give it a solid A. 

    To conclude, this game is fine. It had a good idea of what it was trying to accomplish but, after the first level, it was poorly executed. What saves this game is its amazing music. I give it a 6.8/10.

     

    At a Glance: Sonic the Hedgehog (Genesis) 

    Summary: The evil Dr. Robotnik has captured the animals and encased them in robots. Free the creatures and defeat the evil doctor.

    Price: $4.99 (Gamestop) 

    Distributor: Sega

    Systems: Sega Genesis, Gameboy Advance, Nintendo 3DS, etc. 

    Release Date: June 23, 1991

    Rating: 6.8/10.