Sonic Unleashed Review

Upcoming

Sonic The Hedgehog #31

Sonic The Hedgehog #31

Wed Sep 16, 2020 Out Now!

It's all led to this… the thrilling two-part epilogue to the Metal Virus Saga. The world has changed. Heroes and villains plan for the future as reconstruction begins. But one hero remains missing…

Sonic The Hedgehog #32

Sonic The Hedgehog #32

Wed Sep 23, 2020 Out Now!

The second half of the Metal Virus Saga epilogue. With all the chaos of the recent past still fresh in everyone's minds, Dr. Eggman launches a new assault-determined to take down his enemies once and for all.

This issue also marks Ian Flynn’s last issue on the main series (for now) with Evan Stanley taking over starting with #33.

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #1

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #1

Wed Oct 7, 2020 11 d

The mastermind behind the Metal Virus isn't done yet. Ian Flynn returns to answer: What happened to Dr. Starline?

The Shadowy Scientist is back to his evil antics in Bad Guys! And what better place to concoct nefarious plans than one of Dr. Eggman's abandoned bases? But that is easier said than done when badniks are guarding the entrance! Dr. Starline knows he can't do it alone, so he decides to recruit some familiar and not so friendly faces.

Sonic The Hedgehog #33

Sonic The Hedgehog #33

Wed Oct 28, 2020 32 d

Tails and Sonic try to solve how to fix their damaged ally, Omega. Elsewhere, Rouge and Shadow team up with Cream to win replacement parts for Omega through… Chao races!

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #2

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #2

Wed Oct 28, 2020 Tentative

From Sonic veterans Ian Flynn and Jack Lawrence comes “Smash & Grab,” an exciting story jam-packed with bad guys and badniks!

Some of Sonic’s worst enemies are back and badder than ever! Dr. Starline, Dr. Eggman’s former-right hand, has brought together Mimic, Rough, Tumble, and Zavok and promised them even more incredible power… if they can stop fighting each other and start fighting badniks to get to it!

Sonic The Hedgehog #34

Sonic The Hedgehog #34

Wed Oct 28, 2020 Tentative

It’s off to the races with Cream, Cheese, Amy, and Rouge! They have to keep up their winning streak or surrender Cheese to Clutch’s evil…clutches! Meanwhile, Sonic and Tails are being watched by a mysterious figure in Eggman’s seemingly abandoned base and Shadow investigates a mystery!

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #3

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #3

Wed Nov 11, 2020 Tentative

Who can you trust in a group of bad guys? Zavok and Mimic find out the hard way in “Trust Issues,” and are… less than happy. Meanwhile, Starline is struggling to maintain control of the rowdy group of villains.

Sonic The Hedgehog #35

Sonic The Hedgehog #35

Wed Nov 25, 2020 Tentative

Please keep your arms and legs inside the ride at all times, this is going to be a bumpy one! Rogue calls on Sonic and Tails for backup after the appearance of a hooded villain at White Park. The recently-revealed shadowy figure from Eggman’s base tags along, but can they really be trusted? All will be revealed in “Chao Races and Badnik Bases,” part three!

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #4

Sonic The Hedgehog: Bad Guys #4

Wed Dec 23, 2020 Tentative

Dr. Eggman vs. the Bad Guys! Astonishingly, Dr. Starline’s managed to hold together his motley crew of criminals long enough to almost achieve his goal and see his plan to fruition. Unfortunately, when Dr. Eggman gets wind of their activities, he sets his sights on them. Will the Bad Guys stay together to scramble Eggman or will they crack? Find out in “No Honor Among Thieves,” the thrilling conclusion to Sonic the Hedgehog: Bad Guys!

Sonic The Hedgehog #36

Sonic The Hedgehog #36

Wed Dec 23, 2020 Tentative

Strap on your snowshoes, an avalanche is headed straight for White Park Chateau! Sonic and gang are going to have to act quickly if they want to save the White Park guests and stop the hooded figure from getting away with Tails! Join Evan Stanley for the action-packed conclusion of “Chao Races and Badnik Bases”

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Sonic The Hedgehog 2

Fri Apr 8, 2022 559 d

Sequel to the 2020 movie.

  • Categories

  • Article Archives

  • Forum Posts

  • Sonic Unleashed Review

    Introduction:

    Sonic the Hedgehog (2006) left a huge scar in the blue blur’s reputation. In order to get the franchise back on track, they decided to make a third installment to the beloved Sonic Adventure games. As they came up with more ideas for the game, however, they decided to separate it from the Adventure titles. One of the ideas that differentiated from the Dreamcast games was the concept of the werehog which was made to attract new players to the franchise and so, Sonic Unleashed started development. While Sonic Team worked on the Xbox 360 and PS3 versions of the game, Dimps, the company behind the Sonic Advance and Rush games, helped port the game on the Wii and PS2. Gameloft worked on the mobile port of the game.

    On November 18, 2008, Sega released Sonic Unleashed. While the game did indeed sell well (4.5 million copies to be exact), the reception of the game was…..mixed. While most of the critics enjoyed the daytime levels, a lot of the criticism of the game belonged to the night sections with the werehog. The game has been quite forgotten until recently where people are starting to love Unleashed (and hate Colors but that is for another time). But what do I think about the game? Do I think it’s as delicious as a chocolate chipped cream sundae supreme? Or do I think Sonic Unleashed drained all of Sonic’s glory like a Chaos Emerald?

    Note: I will be reviewing the Xbox 360 version of the game. Your experience may differ depending on the version.

    The Story:

    Sonic is doing his usual job of foiling Eggman’s plan in space until he is trapped as Super Sonic by the good doctor and the power of the Chaos Emeralds are drained and Sonic transforms into a werehog (think werewolf but for a hedgehog). Using the drained power of the emeralds, Eggman fires a huge laser on earth which summons Dark Gaia, a destructive beast who wakes up every few hundred thousand years and shatters the earth into seven pieces.

    As Sonic falls down to earth in his werehog form, he finds Chip, a tiny flying creature who has suffered amnesia. They find out that Sonic returns to his normal form in the daytime and is in his werehog form at night. In order to restore the chaos emeralds’ power and fix the shattered earth, they must return the emeralds to the Gaia Temples. So their journey begins as they restore the planet and figure out Chip’s past.

    Sonic Unleashed image
    Image Courtesy of Microsoft

    As you play through the game, you will encounter only two of Sonic’s friends being Tails and Amy but you will also meet many fun and interesting humans. I really liked talking to them and helping them out. It’s quite unfortunate that Unleashed was the last Sonic game to use humans at the time of this review because I would love to see these humans again. Chip is interesting. Some people like him and some people don’t. I fall into the former. Chip was a very funny character to watch and I liked his friendship with Sonic. Eggman doesn’t do much besides his introduction at the very beginning of the game. He has this robot named Orbot who seems to do nothing but make Eggman look incompetent which I’m not a fan of. I give the story an A-.

    The Gameplay:

    The gameplay I have mixed feelings with. So, the game is split into two where you play standard speed levels in the daylight as Sonic’s hedgehog while you play slower-paced action levels as the werehog. In the daylight, you will blast through levels at top speed and reach the goal. Quick reactions are key in this game in order to reach higher paths in the level which are more rewarding with medals (more on those later). Occasionally, you will need to push the button the game tells you to push within a small time limit. I really liked this and wish they kept this in more Sonic games (technically Forces did this but there are no consequences to getting it wrong). Overall, I really enjoyed playing the day stages.

    As the werehog at night, you will destroy tons of enemies using mainly your arms which can stretch from a far distance or throw enemies at each other. As previously mentioned, the nighttime sections are slower-paced because you usually have to stay in one location and have to progress by defeating all the enemies. There will be a few parkour parts where you have to swing or balance on pipes. The parkour sections are fine. I hate the balancing sections because it can be very frustrating. Because of this, I prefer to not even try and just go the way I want to go while Sonic is hanging. I enjoyed the combat as the werehog. My main problem with the nighttime sections is how long each level is. I’m fine with the levels but because of the length (usually half an hour), I will sometimes dread playing the levels.

    Sonic Unleashed image
    Image Courtesy of Microsoft

    As you play through these levels, you may collect sun/moon medals. These are required to access more levels in the game. I really disliked the concept of these medals. Collectibles shouldn’t be a necessity if you want to beat the game.

    You can help citizens by ridding some monsters. Usually, these are pretty short so I enjoy them. There are also these chili-dog stands where you do certain levels like time, survival, battle, or ring trials depending on if it’s day or night. I didn’t really do these missions. I only did the one night mission but once I died, I had to start over so I decided not to do those again. If you succeed with those missions, you will be awarded a breezy dog that gives you EXP. You can use EXP to increase your stats like Combat, Strength, Speed, etc. You will also gain EXP as you play through the day and night levels.

    Overall, the gameplay is fine. The nighttime sections are a little too long for my liking and I don’t like how the medals slow me down. The daylight stages were enjoyable though. I give it an A-.

    The Soundtrack:

    The soundtrack is where this game really shines. The composer of Sonic Unleashed, Tomoya Ohtani, also worked on Sonic the Hedgehog (2006) which had a great soundtrack. It has some good vocal tracks like Endless Possibilities by Bowling for Soup (they also performed the intro to Phineas and Ferb which was a fact that blew my mind when I first heard it) and Dear My Friend by Brent Cash. There is also that sweet jazzy Werehog Battle Theme. Rooftop Run and Windmill Isle are also great level tracks that I enjoy. I give the soundtrack an A+.

    Conclusion:

    To conclude, this is a pretty good game. I had a ton of fun playing it. My biggest problem with the game is, like many others, the nighttime segments. While they can be fun, they are stretched way too long. But I am glad it is starting to get the love it deserves. I give the game an 8.5/10.

     

    At a Glance: Sonic Unleashed

    Summary: Travel around the world as you restore the power of the Chaos Emeralds and put back together the pieces of the shattered world.

    Rated: E 10+ for Everyone 10 and Up: Animated Blood and Fantasy Violence.

    Price: Wii and Xbox 360: $14.99 PS3: $19.99

    Distributor: Sega

    Systems: PS2, Wii, Xbox 360, PS3, and Mobile.

    Release Date: November 18, 2008

    Rating: 8.5/10